Mary Queen of Heaven
And there appeared a great wonder in heaven;
a woman clothed with the sun, and the moon under her feet,
and upon her head a crown of twelve stars.
And she being with child cried, travailing in birth ….

And she brought forth a man child,
who was to rule all nations with a rod of iron:
and her child was caught up unto God, and to his throne

Book of Revelations (12:1, 2 & 5)

Within the past few months I’ve been struggling to explain this fascination with The Virgin. So many Pagans hold Christianity in contempt for their past, for the persecution of Witches… Many Christian sects, in turn, consider Roman-Catholicism to be blasphemous because its idolization of Mary and Saints takes away from the worship of Christ and/or God.

She’s  so complex. She fascinates me. In Neo-Paganism we speak of many Mother Goddesses and how important they are.  She is the only one who resonates with me so. I guess this inarticulate exploration is above all a plea for understanding from my peers who generally wouldn’t “get it”.

Goddess Imagery

Standing upon the crescent moon, She is a Mother Goddess figure that is familiar to us. In religious art, she has traditionally been portrayed garbed in blue. Mary, Queen of Heaven, I see the sky as her mantle.

Her halo is often punctuated by stars. Did the Book of Revelations mean for the 12 stars to signify the signs of the zodiac?

When I look up at night past the stars, I see blackness, the nothingness of infinite space. The mysteries that lie there, the unmeasurable void of space, this is Her womb. To me, contemplating the mysteries of the First Mother is a lot like meditating upon the universe, wither it has limits and what lies beyond them.

Virgin Birth

She gave birth to the savior of the people without physical insemination. You could think of it as mitosis, a mirror of how life first began on earth among self-replicating bacteria.

My mind runs to the Tao Te Ching:

“Out of nothing comes the one
Out of one comes the two
Out of two comes three
Out of three comes all things”

I compare this to a simpler model of black + white = gray, that the combination of extremes creates all things. The First Mother is one of those extremes.

I wish I better understood what “The Holy Spirit” means, because I feel that the trinity deserves mention here.  There is a mystery here that I am still contemplating.

The Woman

We all have wavering moments of faith. Christ himself did. Mary is revered for having kept faith, but surely she must have felt upset that she would only be able to enjoy the company of her son in death. Imagine giving birth to a child who you would die for everyone’s greater good? I know I would feel selfish. I would ask “What about me? I need my son.”

You call Her by different names –  Juno, Queen of Heaven, Mother Mary, Aradia – but she is one force to me, and a most important, fundamental one.

Here some links to the topics I’ve been exploring lately. I’ve been reflecting upon creating my own prayer beads, my own rosary to the Goddess.

Blessed Virgin Mary
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blessed_Virgin_Mary

Black Madonna
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Madonna

A Chapel of Our Mother God
http://www.mother-god.com/

Rosary
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosary

